David Herbert Lawrence - Biography and Works

David Herbert Lawrence was born in Eastwood, Nottinghamshire, England. He was an English novelist, poet, story writer, critic and painter. He holds the position of the greatest figures in the twentieth century English literature.

David H. Lawrence (1885-1930)

Although Lawrence is better known as a novelist, his first published works were poems. His earlier poems were published by Ford Max Ford in 1909 in the English Review. His early poems reflect the influence of Ezra Pound and Imagist movement, which reached its peak in the early teens of the twentieth century. The first novel by Lawrence The White Peacock (1911) pushed him into a writing career. His other novel, Sons and Lovers was published in 1913. This novel is based on Lawrence’s childhood. Lawrence’s fourth novel The Rainbow (1915) was about two sisters growing up in the north of England.

Lawrence one of the best known works is Lady Chatterly's Lover, published privately in Florence in 1928. It is about the love affair between a wealthy, married woman and a man who works on her husband’s estate. This novel was banned for a time in both UK and the US as pornographic. His other famous works include Look! We Have Come Through (1917), Women in Love (1920), The Lost Girl (1920), Aaron's Rod (1922), Birds, Beasts and Flowers (1923), Mornings in Mexico (1927), The Boy in the Bush (1924), and others. A lifelong sufferer from tuberculosis, Lawrence died on March 2, 1930 in France, at the age of forty four.

Related Topics

Piano (Poem)

Cocksure Women and Hensure Men (Essay)

The Rocking-Horse Winner (Short Fiction)

Snake: Summary and Analysis (Poem)